Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree31Likes

Thread: Which wheel?

ZigZag03 is offline Mark Ruggiero

Default Which wheel?

Looking to update the wheel, thinking Fanatec but on the fence about round or gp style wheel, and uninformed about other brands. Can I get a short poll of you guys and gals using higher end wheels please? Shifters on the old Logitech are getting a bit unreliable... Thanks!
    Mark Ruggiero
    DiamondDog/Red Dwarf Racing

TwoFlatTires is offline Jimmy Hume

Fanatec makes a great product, I've been using their stuff for five years. If you ever do have any problems though, warranty service is painfully slow.

The comparable brand to me is Thrustmaster. They are the main competitor on the mid level scene, and a few guys I know swear by them. To me, the Thrustmaster products just have the 'toy' look to them, which is purely subjective but holds value in my head...

As far as wheel type, that's all about your comfort level. The Fanatec bases are all quick change, so you can easily swap out rims depending on which car your driving, but I think the 'formula black' rim works in most road applications.

/2 cents

TimCollier is offline Senior Community Leader

I love my Fanatec CSL wheel...from the first moment of trying it out before I even had the setting tweaked, I knew right away I had been driving with no real feel for the car and the road. With the CSL you can get out for a lot less than other high-dollar wheels and the cost aligns with Thrustmaster's best stuff. I bought the Formula Black wheel, and while it seems odd when driving American Truck Simulator, it's perfect for racing.

That said, word is that Fanatec and Thrustmaster will have Direct Drive wheels very soon, although I'm sure they will be in the 1K price range. But for me, moving from a TSW with no FFB, to a G27, and now a CSL, I feel like Superman at times.
    Marc Cohn, mms and TwoFlatTires like this.
    Tim Collier

It's not how fast you can go, but how long you can go fast!